Marvin Whiteley, Ph.D.

Marvin Whiteley, Ph.D.

Marvin Whiteley, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Infectious Disease
Professor, Molecular Biosciences
Professor, Dell Medical School

Academic Background

2001-2002 Postdoctoral Fellow, Stanford University

1997-2001 Ph.D. Microbiology, University of Iowa

1995-1997 M.S. Biology, Texas State University

1990-1995 B.S. Zoology, University of Texas at Austin


2013-Present Professor, University of Texas at Austin

2013-Present Director, Center for Infectious Disease

2009-2013 Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

2006-2009 Assistant Professor, University of Texas at Austin

2002-2006 Assistant Professor, University of Oklahoma/Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Invited Seminars

2015          University of Florida, Drexel Medical School, University of Kansas, Texas State University, Mark Wilson Meeting Puerto Rico, University of Miami Ohio

2014          Medical College of South Carolina, Mark Wilson meeting St. Croix, Texas A&M University

2013          University of Alabama Birmingham, Biofilms 5 Paris, Mark Wilson Meeting Puerto Rico, Gordon Conference on Antimicrobial peptides, SGM Manchester, ASM General Meeting, SCELSE Singapore, University of Maryland, Pseudomonas 2013, Columbia University, Ohio State University, North American CF Conference, Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Danish Microbiology Society

2012          Puerto Rico branch ASM, Harvard Medical School, Microbial Sciences Initiative (Harvard University), Mark Wilson Conference Aruba, Ohio Brach ASM, Forsythe Institute, ASM Prokaryotic Cell Biology, EMBL Heidelberg Germany, Mark Wilson meeting Aruba, 2nd International conference on model hosts, Rhodes Greece, Virginia Brach ASM, ASM meeting on Prokaryotic Cell Biology, University of North Carolina, Kansas State University, Loyola Medical School, University of Wyoming

2011          Univ. of California San Francisco, Alaska branch ASM, SGM meeting Harrogate UK, Pennsylvania branch ASM, Binghamton University, University of Vermont, University of Toledo, Mark Wilson meeting Puerto Rico, UT-San Antonio, Univ. of Wisconsin Madison, Gordon Conference on Microbial Population Biology, Gordon Conference on Microbial adhesion and signal transduction, Broad Institute, Molecular Genetics of Bacteria and Phages Meeting, Virginia branch ASM, Pseudomonas 2011, Tufts Medical School

2010          Gordon Research Conference New Antibacterial Discovery & Development, Wake Forest University, ASM General meeting, University of Minnesota, 3M, Bacterial small talk symposium Copenhagen Denmark, Florida ASM branch meeting, North Carolina ASM branch meeting, Georgia Tech, University of Idaho, Session chair North American Cystic Fibrosis meeting

2009          St. Jude, University of Washington, Penn University, Yale University, University of Ottawa, Western Michigan University, Texas A&M Health Sciences Center, University of British Columbia, Biofilms 2009, Gordon Conference on Microbial population biology, University of Michigan, Technische Universitaet Braunschweig Germany, UT-Arlington, Harvard Schepens Eye Institute, UT-Southwestern, Symposium on Bacterial Cell Biology and Pathogenesis Sweden, King’s College London, University of Michigan

2008          Rice University, King’s College London, University of Nottingham, Michigan State University, Dartmouth Medical School, Baylor University, Emory Medical School

2007          Iowa State University, Society for General Microbiology Manchester UK, ASM General Meeting Toronto Canada, Cystic fibrosis conference, Gordon conference on microbial adhesion and signal transduction, Pseudomonas 2007, UT-Dallas, 15th Annual Microbial Genomics Conference

2006          California Institute of Technology, Univ. of California Santa Cruz, The Technical University of Denmark, The University of Texas at Austin, Colloquium on nontraditional communication systems ASM General meeting, Univ. of Texas at San Antonio, Texas Branch ASM, Michigan Branch ASM, North Central Branch ASM, Gordon Conference on Bacterial Cell surfaces, Arrowhead Microbial Genomics Conference, Harvard Medical School, Washington University School of Medicine, Princeton University

2005          Pseudomonas 2005, Texas Branch ASM, Wind River Conference on Prokaryotic Biology

2004          Texas Branch ASM

2003          University of Texas at Houston Medical School, Oklahoma State University, Biofilms 2003


Honors and Fellowships

2014                            Elected to American Academy of Microbiology

2014                            ASM Division D Councilor

2013                            ASM Division D chair

2012                            William Tonn faculty endowed fellow, UT-Austin

2011                            Member faculty 1000, Microbial Physiology & Metabolism Section

2011                            ASM Division D chair-elect

2010-2012                   American Society for Microbiology branch lecturer

2010                            Associate editor, Microbiology UK

2010                            Editorial board, Journal of Bacteriology

2009                            Dean’s teaching excellence award, UT-Austin

2009                            Kavli Frontiers of Science Fellow, National Academy of Sciences

2009                            President, Texas Branch ASM

2008-present               Standing member Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Research and Training Committee

2008                            Editorial board, Applied and Environmental Microbiology

2008                            Selected as a Burroughs Wellcome Investigator in Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease
* National competition selecting promising young investigators in microbial pathogenesis.

2008                            Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award
* Only 2 awards given nationally. Given by the American Society for Microbiology for excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious disease. Award presented at the national meeting.

2006-present               Appointed Institute for Cellular and Molecular Biology Fellow, UT-Austin

2003                            OCAST Young Investigator Award ($300,000 grant)
* Only 2 awards given in the state of Oklahoma

2000                            Ura Barikrishna award for best paper presentation at ASM meeting

1999                            NIH Predoctoral Fellowship in Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing

1997                            Henry Norris Scholarship for Academic Excellence 

1997                            Schultze Scholarship for Research Achievement 

1997                            George W. Meyer Scholarship for Microbiology 

1997                            NSF Predoctoral Fellowship: Gene Regulation and Bioremediation 

1996                            O.B. Williams Award for Best Paper in Microbiology 

1996                            Graduate Stipend award recipient, Southwest Texas State

1995                            Hemphill-Gilmore Scholarship for Academic Excellence 

1995                            Henry Norris Scholarship for Academic Excellence

1994                            University Co-op Scholarship for Academic Achievement