Faculty and Advisors

Actuarial Program Faculty and Advisors

Mark Maxwell, PhD, ASA
Actuarial Program Director
Professor of Practice in Mathematics, Paul V. Montgomery Fellow of Actuarial Mathematics, Co-author of Probability and Statistics with Applications: A Problem Solving Text (approved for SOA Exam P).  Maxwell teaches M362K, M329F, M339U, M339V, M339J, M349P and M349R.
maxwell@math.utexas.edu
RLM 11.168
512-471-7169

Alisa Havens Walch, MA, FCAS 
Actuarial Program Assistant Director
Assistant Professor of Instruction, Actuarial Science Club Advisor, worked as a Property and Casualty (P&C) actuary for three years, teaches M339J, M329F, M339U, M349P, and M339C.  Fall 2015, Alisa designed and will offer a Case Studies class with property and casualty applications - M339C.
ahavens@math.utexas.edu
RLM 13.148
512-232-6189

Gustavo Cepparo, MS
Assistant Professor of Instruction, developed and teaches M349R.  Developing a class on Data Analytics to be offered Spring 2019.
gcepparo@math.utexas.edu
RLM 13.148
512-232-6189

Milica Cudina, PhD
Assistant Professor of Practice, developed and regularly teaches M339D and M339W.  Milica also teaches M329F and M362K.  
mcudina@math.utexas.edu
RLM 13.142
512-232-6186

Shinko Harper, PhD
Assistant Professor of Instruction, teaches M329F, M339U, and M339V.   
shinko@math.utexas.edu
RLM 13.160
512-232-6194

Jennifer (Mann) Austin, PhD
Associate Professor of Instruction, Undergraduate Mathematics Faculty Advisor, teaches M329F. 
jmann@math.utexas.edu
RLM 11.150

Joel Nibert, PhD
Assistant Professor of Instruction, teaches M362K, M329F, and M339J. 
RLM 13.158

The Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy Advising Center

The MPA Advising Center is located in RLM 4.101. Provides advice on course selection, degree requirements, adding or dropping courses, ALEKS placement exams, freshmen and transfer student orientation, and university policy and procedures.  Call 512-471-0900 to set up an appointment.

Ronda Hall 
Academic Advising Coordinator
rhall@austin.utexas.edu

Janna Adkins
Assistant Academic Advisor
jadkins@austin.utexas.edu

The College of Natural Sciences Career Services Office

The Career Services Office is located in PAI 5.03.  Meet with a career coach for help with resume writing, interviewing and job searching.  They also provide the opportunity to apply and interview on campus for internships and full-time positions, as well as coordinate two CNS career fairs per year and several workshops on career-related topics.  Call 512-471-6700 to set up an appointment.

Career Coaches
Painter Hall 5.03 
(512) 471-6700
careerdesign@austin.utexas.edu